Bookworm Software Engineers

Bookworm Software Engineers

Joe often talks about software engineering as a subject, so I was curious to see how many people on the Bookworm forum are actually software engineers by trade. If you’re a software engineer, share what you do and how you do it!

In order to keep it civil, I feel like we should avoid explicit bashing of languages/tools and focus on the ones we really enjoy and are productive with.

Education:

BS in computer science, most of which was taught in C++. I have yet to use C++ for any anything, so in that regard it was probably not useful. On the other hand, you could argue that the general programming skills I gained are useful even to this day.

My degree was worth the money to me mostly from a social perspective. I was an anxious/nervous wreck in high school and college helped me come out of my shell and learn to speak in front of people. Shortly after college I even got my Toastmasters CC!

Favorite language:

Elixir, followed by Kotlin. I’m generally not a fan of the JVM but Kotlin is :ok_hand:.

Work:

Enterprise finance company writing Java (take that Joe :wink:), Kotlin, Go, Dart, and Python. My previous job was all C# and Powershell.

I also run a very small side business which mostly ends up doing WordPress development. Funnily enough my most starred repo on GitHub is: https://github.com/Nezteb/I_Hate_WordPress (an admittedly satirical title)

I used to teach summer programming classes at my university for middle and high schoolers. Those were mostly HTML/CSS/JavaScript, with some Node thrown in at the end. They were reasonably easy to teach and accessible to students without needing to learn a ton of tooling.

2 Likes

I’m a data scientist, so not quite a software engineer, but close enough :wink:

Education

• Bachelor of Mathematical and Computer Sciences (majors in pure mathematics and statistics)
  • Research Master’s degree in statistics
  • LinkedIn profile

Languages